scholarship policy

Jahresarchiv
chongtzuhuei

scholarship policy

Beitrag von chongtzuhuei »

guten tag,
ich bin frau chong tzu huei von malaysia. i have my bachelor and masters degree in architecture from (http://www.architecture.rmit.edu.au/). i did also do an exchange in TU Berlin for 2 semesters from 2011 till 2012. now i am interested to do my doctorate back with TU Berlin again. as a foreigner, some rules in gaining scholarship might be different i suppose?

i have tried enquiring with DAAD and they do not accept people/students who have lived or been in germany more than 15months. my question is any other scholarship providers are more flexible, could also be specified in architecture, cater for foreigner like me from malaysia.

please advice further. hope to hear from you all soon.
vielen vielen dank.
Penguin

Re: scholarship policy

Beitrag von Penguin »

Hi Chong Tzu Huei,

I would suggest to find a supervisor at the TU Berlin first. S/he should be able to point you to funding sources or offer you a PhD position. Scholarships are not as common in Germany as in Australia, most PhD students are employed with a grant of the supervisor.

Good luck!
Penguin
chongtzuhuei

hi penguin.
thanks for your respond. its been helpful.

what you are saying is that normally the students/phd holders are employed with the university & professor/supervisor. indirectly thats how they receive their grant? is there a chance for a private application, which means i will apply on my own when i have completed all my paperworks (eg: consent to do my phd in TUB, consent from supervisor, consent of my topic, have a proper residence permit etc...)?

or do you think its only a very slim chance for foreigners like me? only as a student and most likely will have to work part-time etc...

danke nochmals!
qc
Penguin

Beitrag von Penguin »